Blog 1

The High vs Low video does suggest many different words you could substitute for culture. However I think you could substitute high and low with desired and achieved. High culture, as defined by the High vs. Low video, is something that is highly reviewed, inaccessible, unpopular. Low culture is poorly reviewed, accessible,  popular. As seen in high culture it is often something that is much harder to obtain and is desired by many people. Since it is so highly desired it is often something that is thoroughly examined by lower culture because that is the closest they will ever get to it. It isn’t something that is what you can call popular because it is something that you rarely see.  Lets take having a Lamborghini, owning one is desired by many people but only few people have one. It isn’t popular but it’s desired. However if you look at Honda Civic it is something that is very popular and is something that is very accessible. It is achievable for most people, which make it something that is less desired but more popular. This trend is even demonstrated in the Southpark episode. It is so easy to achieve zero friends on Facebook but it is desired to have thousands of friends on Facebook. 

6 thoughts on “Blog 1

  1. I think your post this week is very interesting. I find it quiet insightful and interesting that you re-tittle high and low culture as desired and achieved. What do you think about redefining these things as accessible and not so accessible, or something along those lines? Just a question, I ask because I see in your definition and the YouTube video we were assigned to watch, you talk about high culture being something that is inaccessible. I very much agree with this because high culture is often something that only people from particular socio-economic backgrounds have access to. Also with the desired title it infers that high culture is something that people want to achieve. I wonder if this is necessarily the case.

  2. I agree with you that High culture has been proven inaccessible in comparison to the Low culture. Low culture is smack dab in front of our faces and this deems it the popular culture. I am curious about your conclusion to high culture being desired by many. I personally do not see this connection unless you mean that everyone more or less aspires to be high cultured, but instead chooses the easy route of low culture. This definitely represents a small amount of the population, but I believe there are people out there who have no desire to associate themselves with high culture, only purely interested in the pop culture that surrounds them.

  3. Your analogy with the lambrogini and the civic is interesting and makes your case well. It did make me compare it in a lager sense though. That having a lambrogini may be a desirable thing all over the world, but may be just as inaccessable to the average person as the Honda civic. Globaly, high culture is truly enjoyed by perhaps the 1% of the world’s population. Though is still desired all over the world and largely unaccessible. I wonder how much of this class discussion is actually limited to American culture or even simply Western culture.

  4. This post has many great insights on high culture vs low culture. It definitely gave me a much clearer picture on how the two differ from one another. The example of the Lamborghini being desired yet unpopular as compared to the Honda Civic I agree with you 100%. Another example would be how Toyota manufactures Lexus, yet the majority of individuals consider Lexus to be higher end, making Lexus more desirable to the greater population. Even though the two vehicles are similar in appearance and can be difficult to differentiate if both of the vehicle’s logos were taken off.

  5. I love your analogy with the Honda and Lamborghini, it really helped me understand your perspective. I definitely agree with what your saying, it makes a lot of sense to me. I was having a difficult time when I did my blog post because its something I had never really thought about or heard about. Your blog really gave me a new perspective.

  6. Bret,
    I really enjoy your comparison of high culture versus low culture using a Lamborghini. I didn’t really perceive high or low culture as something that can either be desired or achieved though, so explaining further using your example was very helpful and opened up a new perspective to this dichotomy. Great post!

What are your thoughts?